ICC: Indian Women’s Team Qualify for World Cup 2021

ICC’s technical committee decided to give split point to India against Pakistan, a series was originally scheduled to take place between July and November 2019 between Pakistan and India, but it did not go ahead, in a climate of political tensions between both countries. So, India has qualified for the 2021 Women’s World Cup.

The split points for the South Africa-Australia and Sri Lanka-New Zealand series that have been postponed due to the coronavirus pandemic by the ICC.

On Wednesday, the ICC said in the media release, “Concerning the India v Pakistan series, the TC (technical committee) concluded that the series could not be played because of a Force Majeure event after the BCCI demonstrated that it was unable to obtain the necessary government clearances to allow India to participate in the bilateral series against Pakistan, which forms a part of the ICC Women’s Championship”.

The technical committee comprises:

  • Geoff Allardice (ICC general manager of cricket)
  • Chris Tetley (ICC head of events)
  • Jonathan Hall (ICC general counsel)

In 2016, the ICC’s technical committee had awarded Pakistan full points for a similarly unplayed series against India.

Read More: IPL 2020 Postponed due to lockdown in India

India qualifies as the fourth-placed team on the ICC Women’s Championship table with 23 points due to the splitting of points (three to India, three to Pakistan), behind Australia (37), England (29) and South Africa (25).

Pakistan with 19 points, above New Zealand (17), who qualify for the World Cup automatically as hosts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap