International Players listed in HBL PSL 2020

LAHORE:  on Wednesday, an initial list of Platinum players for Pakistan Super League (PSL) season five announced by Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB). There are 28 international players to have listed in Platinum category up to like Moeen Ali, Dale Steyn, Adil Rashid and Jason Roy. The registration window will close on 21 November for the foreign players, following which an updated list will be announced.

The popularity of the competition reflects as the first time Steyn has registered for the HBL PSL. Steyn had played Tests in Karachi and Lahore in 2007. Unattractive battle between Babar Azam and Steyn are on the cards for the upcoming for next year’s tournament as the South African speedster is among the 28 international crowd-pullers to have registered to date in the category.

In the Centurion Test late last year, the battle between Babar and Steyn got popularity when the Pakistan batsman struck 10 boundaries in a span of just 31 balls.While in the Cape Town Test, he followed up with five boundaries in 29 balls and Steyn had a total of 16 fours off just 66 balls.

Steyn said about draft pool: “I am excited that I will get to be a part of the HBL Pakistan Super League draft poo as Cricket means the world to Pakistani fans.”

In the Platinum category, Hashim Amla and England’s World Cup winners Moeen Ali and Adil Rashid are the other international players who have registered for the HBL PSL 2020.

 “I am very excited that I am going to be a part of such an incredible pool of players for the PSL Player Draft. On the circuit, players talk about the quality cricket that they have experienced playing in the PSL and I can’t wait to be a part of it.”Moeen Ali said.

Jason Roy is also the other World Cup winner to have registered for PSL 2020. Roy, who has previously represented Lahore and Quetta teams, said: “Pakistan cricket always offers unique and exciting stuff and this tournament is no different. They have some of the most passionate fans in the world and it is extremely heartening to experience this passion. I have had brief but memorable stints at the HBL PSL and it’s great to be back in the pool.”

Read More: PSL 2021

Alex Hales and Kieron Pollard are familiar faces in the PSL. Hales, who was a part of Islamabad United in 2018, said: “I had a great experience playing in Karachi last year and I can’t forget the love that I received from Pakistani fans. HBL PSL has grown so much in such little time and it is definitely an exciting tournament to be a part of.”

Kieron Pollard, who was a part of Peshawar Zalmi in the 2019 event, said: “Last year, I played in front of jam-packed crowds then I truly experienced what cricket means to Pakistani fans. It was definitely a highlight in my career and I hope that the HBL PSL festivity continues this season as well.”

See More: PSL 2021 Schedule PDF

England boasting seven, South Africa six and the West Indies five, Australia and Afghanistan three each, Sri Lanka two and New Zealand and Nepal one each, Overall the 28 players come from eight cricket-playing nations.

List of international players who have registered in Platinum category:

  • England players: Moeen Ali, Adil Rashid, Liam Plunkett, Harry Gurney, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan and Jason Roy.
  • South Africa players: Hashim Amla, Colin Ingram, Dale Steyn, JP Duminy, Rilee Rossouw and Imran Tahir.
  • West Indies players: Dwayne Bravo, Carlos Brathwaite, Sunil Narine, Evin Lewis and Kieron Pollard.
  • Australian players: Dan Christian, Ben Cutting and Chris Lynn
  • Afghanistan players: Mujeeb-ur-Rehman, Rashid Khan and Mohammad Nabi.
  • Sri Lanka players: Thisara Perera and Angelo Mathews.
  • New Zealand player: Colin Munro.
  • Nepal player: Sandeep Lamichhane.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap