Lahore Qalandars PSL Team Full Report

Lahore Qalandars PSL Team Full Report

One of the six cricket franchises includes Lahore Qalandars, and the abbreviation used for this team is LQ and is one of the teams that compete in the Pakistan Super League series. In 2015 when PCB announced the inauguration of PSL that would happen in February 2016. One of the franchises introduced on city-based was Lahore Qalandars. Gaddafi Stadium is the home ground of this team. Qatar Lubricants Company Limited is the owner of the franchise Lahore Qalandars. Sohail Akhtar is the captain of the team.

A former Pakistani cricketer Aaqib Javed is the coach of the team. It was the second most expensive franchise and one of the teams that international companies purchased. The leading run-scorer is awarded to Fakhar Zaman, while the leading wicket-taker is Shaheen Shah Afridi. The Lahore franchise was purchased for ten years by Qatar Lubricants Company for US$ 215.1 million. And after the most expansive franchise Karachi Kings it is the second most expansive franchise.


In 2016 Lahore Qalandars was given the “Spirit of the game” and the “Fair play Award.” ” Although they failed to win the tournament, they still managed to get awarded the best sportsmanship throughout the tournament. However, the team was unable to succeed in the matches of 2017,2018 and 2019 as well, and finally, in 2020, when they made it to the finale, they were defeated by Karachi Kings by five wickets. It was the first time in PSL history that the franchise of Lahore Qalandars reached the final, but still, Karachi Kings managed to win the tournament.


Fawad Rana, the owner of the team, launched the team in 2015 on 12 December. Both “Qatar” and “QALCO” are represented by the ‘Q’  in “Qalandars”. The name also depicts the Sufi Culture of Lahore. Qalandar represents Sufism in Pakistan and is a general word used for this culture. The Saints whose shrines attract millions of followers towards them the word Qalandar depicts that Sufi mystics. The team’s logo is made to show the Sufi culture and the interest in Sufism in this region.

Lahore Qalandars Team Kit

The red and black color was the kit’s color in the first season, while it was changed to green instead of red in the second season. The rivalry between Lahore Qalandars and Karachi Kings is considered the greatest rivalry in PSL because of their economic and cultural rivalry. Both teams have a huge fan following, due to which their matches attract huge mass attention.

Share this post

Post Comment